• Wisconsin Ave
    Chevy Chase, MD
  • Loughboro Rd. NW
    Washington, DC
  • 2021 K St. NW
    Washington, DC

Patient Testimonials

Dr. Melvin is kind, compassionate, an excellent listener & very calm & talented surgeon. He makes complicated things sound easy and does a tremendous job explaining options. And he usually provides options which is comforting. He's A+ in every way! He did a partial knee replacement for me & two months later I tore my quadriceps tendon over the same knee in Florida; Dr. Melvin provided comfort right away, monitored my surgery from distant Florida and figuratively held my hand thru this terrifying time.

Ratings Phyllis A | December 08, 2019

Dr Melvin preformed replacement knee surgery Nov 4.2018. My age was 81. He recommend the “custom” replacement joint which he is trained to install. Procedure was a complete success and the care at Sibley Hospital was outstanding. I believe that following his pre op plan and the pre op plan from Sibley is very important and helps the surgery and recovery. I cannot say enough for Dr Melvin’s manner, knowledge and skill. The operation was after two other appointments when the orinigal diagnosis was made. The first remedy an injection, lasted about 1 year. Pain then returned and he tried another injection which lasted only a short time. He said at the time that I will tell him when I’m ready for surgery. Following his advice the pain persisted and I called to have another visit to schedule the operation. It takes around 6 weeks or so to receive the new joint after taking a CT that measured my leg from the hip down. My experience with the surgery was virtually painless using Ultrum for 5 days then to Tylenol as needed. That is minimal analgesic use. Follow Dr Melvin’ plan, do the recommended therapy and you may have the same success that I experienced. Rehabilitation was at Sibley and I highly recommmed which was also successful. My recovery time was very rapid and after 6 months I had to remind myself that I had the surgery and to be careful not to abuse. After 1 year now 12/7/19 I have to remind myself that I ever had surgery. I can take my 2.5 mile walk on the beach effortlessly and climb stairs with balance whereas last year I could not walk 1 block without severe pain.WOSM staff and Dr Melvin earn 5 Stars. I do not believe that you can find a better surgeon.

Ratings Steven S | December 08, 2019

The surgeons and staff at WOSM are professionals in whom I have absolute confidence. Particular thanks to Dr. Grossman for his continuing guidance and care and to Dr. Melvin for having performed my recent hip replacement.

Ratings Joy N | December 04, 2019

Dr. Melvin is smart, compassionate and skilled. Can’t recommend him highly enough. The practice is very communicative and responsive.

Ratings Loren A | December 04, 2019

Dr. Melvin and his staff are amazing. Very accessible, straightforward, and extraordinary competence in his work. I had anterior hip surgery and it is huge success and I am only 4 weeks out. I would highly recommend Dr. Melvin.

Ratings Risa F | November 27, 2019

Dr Melvin is very caring and attentive. He listened To and answered all my questions and reassured me on what steps i need to take before my knee replacement. I’ll ultimately need both replaced. I’ll post updated reviews as the process continues. In the meantime i feel confident in his abilities and feel reassured by his ability to put me at ease.

Ratings Frank N | November 06, 2019

I couldn’t be more satisfied with Dr. Melvin’s services. My operation was well prepared. An extraordinary level of pre-surgery support was provided by Dr. Melvin’s team, by the Washington Orthopedics and Sports Medicine group, and by the Sibley Hospital staff where the operation was performed. This enabled me to understand and do everything I was expected to do. Post-surgery support has also been extraordinary. All aspects of the operation, including particularly the staff involved at every step of the way, were well coordinated with each other and with the associated insurance providers. At every step of the way, if I had any concerns, there were people who were available to help me through the process. I cannot say there was anything overlooked. Having an understanding of the steps I needed to take before, during and after surgery minimized the stress and anxiety that an operation inevitably involves, so that I could be comfortable and have confidence in the medical services I needed to receive. If the need arises, I would go back to Dr. Melvin in a heartbeat for any of the medical services he provides.

Ratings Allan I | November 06, 2019

Excellent experience from diagnosis thru surgery. Very straightforward approach, with detailed explanation on knee replacement process, recovery expectations and technology in layman’s terms. Would highly recommend.

Ratings Ken M | November 06, 2019

Outstanding doctor! He was extremely thorough and detailed in explaining my medical condition. He completely addressed all of my concerns, from both a medical and health insurance viewpoint. I felt completely satisfied with everything he presented to me. Based on this one office visit, I have elected to go forth with him performing a full hip replacement.

Ratings Ann B | October 29, 2019

Dr. Melvin is an outstanding orthopaedic surgeon…he is friendly, professional, and inspires confidence… He is a skilled physician that immediately builds trust in his professional judgement. I highly recommend him to anyone in need of an orthopaedic surgeon… In my opinion he is the best.

Ratings Larry A | October 26, 2019

I have seen Dr. Melvin several times since he joined WOSM. He’s always listened carefully to my questions and concerns. I’m an 84 y.o. female and am trying to postpone/avoid knee replacement.

Ratings October 16, 2019

Great visit. Understand and agree recommendations and feel that my problem was addressed and solved.

Ratings Anna L | October 12, 2019

Dr. Melvin is a competent doctor and has excellent bedside manner. He suggested a few x-rays be taken to identify what might be causing me discomfort. Three x-rays were taken ( knee, hip and back) and he recommended two MRI’s for further explanation. Dr. Melvin was attentive and expressed genuine concern. I really appreciate his thoroughness and would highly recommend him and Washington Orthopedics in Chevy Chase.

Ratings Hazel B | October 1, 2019

Quick, knowledgeable and very attentive!

Ratings Sandra M | October 10, 2019

Very professional and personable. Inspires trust and confidence. Sympathetic, really listens. Good sense of humor. Clearly a master in his field.

Ratings Amy Y | October 10, 2019

Excellent doctor, knowledgeable, caring, super nice!

Ratings JOAN S | October 09, 2019

Dr. Melvin, his staff and his associates at Sibley hospital all are excellent. He combines state of the art expertise and skill with a caring and respectful demeanor. I’m one month out of total hip replacement (66 yo woman) and the whole process has gone smoothly and comfortably and was rewarding beyond my expectations. Dr. Melvin, assistant Mariam and PA Ashley Perkins were all quickly responsive to all of my questions, concerns, emails, scheduling changes and more (and I had many). The level of professionalism was very high. In addition to successfully replacing my completely messed up hip, Dr. Melvin evened out a 17-year-old leg length discrepancy. I was walking evenly and comfortably on the day of surgery and am now back to walking 2 miles or more at a time, sitting cross legged on the floor and going on outings without obsessing about my hip. Highly highly recommend. I did a lot of research before choosing him and this practice and am glad that I did.

Ratings October 04, 2019

Dr. Melvin is kind, compassionate, an excellent listener & very calm & talented surgeon. He makes complicated things sound easy and does a tremendous job explaining options. And he usually provides options which is comforting. He's A+ in every way! He did a partial knee replacement for me & two months later I tore my quadriceps tendon over the same knee in Florida; Dr. Melvin provided comfort right away, monitored my surgery from distant Florida and figuratively held my hand thru this terrifying time.

Ratings Phyllis A | Sep 25, 2019

Dr. Melvin performed a full hip replacement for me in May 2019. From my first visit forward, I knew I had made the right choice to have Dr. Melvin perform the procedure. He explained everything clearly and listened to all of my concerns and addressed them in a respectful manner. Most importantly, four months later, I feel great and have returned to an active life-style. I am so happy with the results that I am planning to have the other other hip replaced next year.

Ratings Sep | 16, 2019

Dr. Melvin was outstanding in every conceivable way—Medically and surgically and “bedside manner”.

Ratings Jud S | Sep 09, 2019

Sharp, warm, efficient, and on-target! Think very highly of his work!

Ratings Elaine S | Sep 19, 2019

He always listens carefully and is thorough in discussing my problems.

Ratings James F | Sep 13, 2019

I was referred to Dr Melvin to troubleshoot pain that I was having. He did a thorough exam, listened to everything I had to say and then came up with decisive way to determine what was causing the pain.

Ratings Janet R | Sep 11, 2019

Dr. Melvin really listened and was helpful in answering my questions.

Ratings Joan K | Sep 07, 2019

My experience with hip replacement by the anterior approach by Dr. Melvin has been positive in every way. His office is run efficiently. Communication with Dr. Melvin and his team is excellent. The surgery and recovery at Sibley went smoothly. The daily instructions on the customized Pulse app aided recovery at home. Now I am scheduled to have my other hip replaced since my first experience was excellent. I am a grateful and hopeful retired pediatrician, looking forward to getting back to full, comfortable activity soon.

Today I am three months post-op from the second hip replacement, and I am enjoying being pain-free with full function of both hips. I recommend Dr. Melvin and his team highly with no reservations. He is a great surgeon who communicates well. I am grateful for fantastic results after a good process of surgery and recovery.

Ratings Susan D | Sep 03, 2019

Great experience overall. Know what they are doing. Several very successful replacements. Good bedside manor. Seem to care about me.

Ratings Sarah D | Aug 30, 2019

Dr. Melvin did a total right hip replacement just over two weeks ago. Bottom line is I am walking freely, without pain and I am no longer on pain medication. The surgery went smoothly and without problem. The pre and post surgical care was excellent. At no time was I uncomfortable. Dr. Melvin was caring and responsive to my needs and questions. I recommend him highly without reservation.

Ratings Andrew | Aug 20, 2019

Dr. Melvin was my second opinion Dr. and the only one to explain that for a total knee replacement he uses customizes knees; the reasons why are evident but primarily due to a quicker and less complicated recovery than when a Dr. uses off-the shelf. Not only was I impressed by his expertise in knee surgeries but his explanations were thoughtful and detailed. I like my former orthopedist, Dr. Melvin did not rush through out first )or any subsequent session such as the post-op). He is a considerate and highly experienced surgeon who performed an excellent operation on my knee. I will be visiting him in the future for my left knee. I highly recommend this Dr.

Ratings Kathryn H. | Aug 08, 2019

I had a right total hip replacement, anterior approach, by Dr Melvin on 7/5/19, and I have to say that I couldn’t be more pleased with the results, the practice as a while, and especially Dr Melvin. He never makes you feel rushed, takes time to answer your concerns and questions in detail, and is a world-class surgeon, and his results show that. He even took the time to call me himself on multiple occasions to answer questions that I had emailed to his assistant, Mariam. That’s a rarity these days. And, Mariam, she’s a rockstar. Always responds in a timely manner, and you never, ever have to ask her something twice. The practice as a whole seems to run like a finely tuned machine. They exemplify what I think we all hope for our experiences to be like with doctors.

Ratings Brian H | July 24, 2019

Skilled surgeon with an excellent and caring support staff.

Ratings Allan S | July 24, 2019

Dr Melvin gets very highest recommendation! Excellent experience from diagnosis to joint replacement surgery to follow up care! He is the very best in Washington for hips.

Ratings Marcia R | July 23, 2019

Dr. Melvin did my hip replacement surgery 3 weeks ago. He did a marvelous job. My recovery has been just incredible. I would highly recommend Dr. Melvin for his skill, compassion, and overall professionalism.

Ratings Shanda | July 16, 2019

Dr. Melvin was very personable and had a solid treatment plan for my pain. Office ran very smoothly and the wait time was minimal.

Ratings Rick F | July 10, 2019

I was very impressed with Dr. Melvin. We had seen 2 orthopedic surgeons before him and knew he was quality. He is smart, attentitive and explained the entire surgery to us. He showed us a model of the hip to be replaced and helped me understand my X-ray answering all of my questions.. Finally he let me know that there was a Pulse App on my phone which would help me monitor and assist my progress while being in communication with him. From the start I had confidence that I was in good hands with Dr. Melvin.

Ratings Jack H | July 05, 2019

Top-notch practitioner in every respect. He conveyed assurance and confidence from the start, the procedure—although difficult—was a resounding success. Recovery is ahead of schedule.

Ratings Wyatt | July 04, 2019

Dr Melvin did a partial knee replacement and it’s been a huge improvement in my quality of life. He’s a great surgeon and made me very confident about my recovery.

Ratings Pat July | 03, 2019

Dr. Melvin did my hip replacement surgery 3 weeks ago. He did a marvelous job. My recovery has been just incredible. I would highly recommend Dr. Melvin for his skill, compassion, and overall professionalism.

Ratings Janice R | June 22, 2019

Dr. Melvin performed a total hip on my wife in December 2018. It was not a normal operation as she had fractured her pelvis and hip socket 10 months prior. The hip replacement was a more complicated task which took a little longer. The results were outstanding. We thank Dr. Melvin for his expertise, his compassion, his true concern for her welfare and most importantly his kindness. BTW Dr. Melvin performed a total knee on Judi 5 years prior with outstanding results. So good that we traveled 7 hours each way to see him. Thank you Dr. Melvin.

Ratings Britt | June 5, 2019

Dr Melvin was assured, professional, clear. Listened well and was decisive.

Ratings K and B Whitaker | June 5, 2019

Dr. Melvin is terrific. He keeps me playing sports and that critical to me.

Ratings D W | June 3, 2019

Office was efficient. Aides brisk and capable. Dr. Melvin recalled our last visit, last year. He’s friendly, listens well and works fast but not rushed. Very capable. Diagnosed with assurance and administered treatment smoothly. A real pleasure. Highly recommend.

Ratings B M | May 15, 2019

Dr. Melvin is a very thorough, informative, excellent doctor. He has a warm, friendly manner and always has time to answer questions.

Ratings M M | May 15, 2019

Excellent doc. Kind, good listener, recommend highly. Can tell he loves his work and genuinely cares about his patients.

Ratings L T | May 15, 2019

My experience with Dr. Melvin was remarkably favorable. I took a fall over the Holidays requiring complicated patella surgery. He worked to facilitate early surgery despite Holiday slowdowns. He was always responsive and a good listener—enough information to answer my questions, but not so much as to be overwhelming. He coordinated well with PT during my recovery to keep me on a steady path, did battle where necessary with insurance company, and supported my recovery. I would recommend him without reservation.

Ratings May 8, 2019

I am very young to have had a hip replacement and Dr. Melvin made me feel entirely comfortable and ensured that all important aspects of my life would still be attainable. While I hope people don’t have to have a hip replacement like myself, if the situation arises, Dr. Melvin is the only doctor I would recommend. Thank you for everything!

Ratings April 26, 2019

Dr Melvin and his staff provide excellent medical care for anyone in need of a hip or knee joint replacement. He and his staff were comforting and reassuring during my recent hip joint replacement surgery. They are available to answer all questions before during and after surgery and demonstrate a sincere desire for an effective pain free outcome that extends the quality of life as your original joints erode. I had very successful surgery and am seeing immediate and swift results.

Ratings April 26, 2019

I am four weeks post-op from total hip replacement. Thanks to Dr. Melvin and his team I am doing excellent! Dr. Melvin provides a standard of care that I have never experienced. Dr. Melvin is excellent in his field and his credentials are impeccable. I was optimistic and had a whole new attitude about my hip situation after my first office visit. He left no stone un-turned checking out everything before recommending hip replacement.

I echo all of the other fabulous reviews about Dr. Melvin including his great skill, professionalism, accessibility and genuine care for his patients. I would add that Dr. Melvin is not just a doctor who shepherds patients in and out. He is passionate about his profession and strives for excellence. This is evidenced by his scholarly works and presentations. Like Dr. Melvin’s care, I have never experienced the level of care like his office and medical staff provide. His personal assistant is awesome, always accessible and responds to my inquiries in record time. Accolades to the Surgery Center in Bethesda. They took care of me like a baby. From start to finish they put me at ease.

For me, the thought of surgery was very scary. However, the element of trust in Dr. Melvin allowed me to overcome my fear and get this surgery behind me. Overall, I highly recommend Dr. Melvin to anyone and everyone. You will look at your other doctors through a different lens after you experience this level of care.

Ratings - MR | April 10, 2019

My experience with hip replacement by the anterior approach by Dr. Melvin has been positive in every way. His office is run efficiently. Communication with Dr. Melvin and his team is excellent. The surgery and recovery at Sibley went smoothly. The daily instructions on the customized Pulse app aided recovery at home. Now I am scheduled to have my other hip replaced since my first experience was excellent. I am a grateful and hopeful retired pediatrician, looking forward to getting back to full, comfortable activity soon.

Ratings - SD | April 09, 2019

He listens closely and thinks creatively as a diagnostician. He explains his thinking clearly and runs through options.

Ratings - MZ | April 03, 2019

Dr. Melvin is a kind, direct, and personable doctor who truly communicates with a patient through the ups and downs of hip surgery. He responds fast to urgent and not so urgent matters via text and phone, does a great job pre and post op as well as most importantly in the OR. For me, as an anxious patient, he is literally perfect. Thank you.

Ratings - AE | March 28, 2019

Dr. Melvin is absolutely amazing! He’s professional and very easy to talk to. I was struggling with arthritis in my right knee, which made it very swollen and painful for me to walk. Dr. Melvin had recommended surgery, and he assured me that I would feel better after the procedure. I’m 77 and when I saw how well I was doing the day after surgery, I was astonished. It’s been three weeks since, so I’m still recovering and doing really well with minimal discomfort. I’m very grateful for Dr. Melvin!

Ratings - March 23, 2019

From start to finish, I had an amazing experience with Dr. Melvin, his staff and Sibley Memorial Hospital. Dr. Melvin showed me the Pulse app, which gave me daily instructions before the operation as well as immediate access to him through text or phone post-surgery. He answered every text within minutes. After the double-hip replacement surgery, I walked the first day, used a walker for two days, a cane for one and was assistance-free by my fourth day post-op. Just an amazing experience.

Ratings - March 20, 2019

The best Orthopedic practice ever!! If you are looking for a great Dr., great bedside manners, and knowledgeable; then look no further. Getting a hip replacement was super scary for me and can be for a lot of people. But, from start to finish Dr. Melvin and his staff took great care of me and my husband.

Thank you for taking care of me and answering all my questions and concerns.

Ratings - SI | March 10, 2019

Dr. Melvin performed my bilateral hip surgery and I could not have had a more pleasant experience. Upon my first visit to discuss the surgery and the idea of doing both hips at one time, he was so pleasant and easy to talk to. It was important to me that he understand my entire health history as I have issues with auto immune diseases and he was happy to go over it all and discuss any concerns or offer insight to help me decide on how to proceed. I highly recommend Dr. Melvin.

Ratings - NP | March 07, 2019

Very professional staff and physician.

Ratings - RP | February 17, 2019

Dr. Melvin and his team gave me an excellent experience through the entire process of my total knee replacement. They were attentive to every detail, before and after, responsive to my questions, and thorough in every respect. Dr. Melvin even added the personal touch of calling me the night before surgery. “We’re ready for you,” he said, “See you tomorrow.” I am grateful to have been in such capable hands for this life-changing event.

Ratings - AD | February 14, 2019

Dr. Melvin is courteous, caring and GOOD.

Ratings - MD | February 13, 2019

Efficient, knowledgeable and sympathetic.

Ratings - BB | February 13, 2019

Absolutely great. Diagnosed my problem. Mind to tell you three doctors previously couldn’t figure it out.

Ratings - FR | February 12, 2019

Dr. Melvin is wise beyond his years. He took care of me when I fractured my femur then carefully monitored my recovery and determined that I would benefit from a hip replacement despite my young age (45). I was pain free 3 weeks after the replacement and ran 4 miles 6 weeks after the replacement and my hips felt better than they had in decades. Dr. Melvin is kind and a good listener. His expertise in customizing treatments for each unique patient’s situation was clear in my treatment protocol.

Ratings - EM | February 09, 2019

Dr. Melvin and his staff are amazing. Very accessible, straightforward, and extraordinary competence in his work. I had anterior hip surgery and it is huge success and I am only 4 weeks out. I would highly recommend Dr. Melvin.

Ratings - RF | January 30, 2019

Dr. Melvin replaced my right hip two weeks ago. Everything went extremely smoothly. Kudos to Dr. Melvin and his office staff and the staff at Sibley. Post surgery care was also excellent.

Ratings - Whit | January 10, 2019

Dr. Melvin really listened and was helpful in answering my questions.

Ratings - JK | January 10, 2019

Top-rate treatment by a top-rate doctor and his staff. Two-weeks post hip-replacement surgery and I am walking without pain and minimum restrictions. Dr. Melvin is the consummate professional who demonstrates concern for his patients' physical and emotional well being. He is very personable, patient, and responsive, which goes a long way to allaying the inevitable anxieties that accompany the prospect of going under the knife. The staff and facility of the Bethesda Chevy Chase Surgical Center, where my outpatient operation was performed, were superb. Dr. Melvin's employment of cutting-edge services (such as the app that guides the patient throughout the pre-and post-op period) reflects a genuine interest in providing optimal health care. His ongoing interest in research and publishing in his area of expertise provide additional reassurance that this medical provider stays on the top of his game. Highly recommended.

Ratings - WG | January 3, 2019

Dr. Melvin very patiently answered every question and clearly described what he would do now and in the future.

Ratings - PN | January 3, 2019

Dr. Melvin has performed 2 surgeries on my wife. 1st surgery was a total knee 4 plus years ago in NC with a great outcome. In January 2018 my wife fell pushing the femur against the hip socket and pelvis (5 plates, 18 screws). Repair was in NC at a trauma one hospital (Dr. Hsu). 10 months later we drove to Sibley from NC to have Dr. Melvin perform a very complicated TOTAL HIP to relieve the terrible bone on bone pain. Dr. Melvin is a very unique physician-caring and competent! The BEST.

Ratings - December 30, 2018

Dr. Melvin has preformed two surgeries on my wife over the past 5 years. 1. Total knee replacement in Concord, NC 5 years ago. 2. A complicated total hip 2 days ago. We are going home today. So “why” Dr. Melvin? His success rate is very good because he is excellent in his field. The other part of the experience is that he has a big heart which means he cares about you and it’s obvious! We drove 6.5 hours to see him and have the surgery. Would not drive as far unless we thought he would be the best. BTW my wife and I are in our 70’s and this experience is not our first rodeo! Thank you Dr. Melvin.

Ratings - December 8, 2018

Dr Melvin is professional and very curtious. I never feel rushed. He is competent, confident and compassionate which is the trifecta I look for in a doctor.

Ratings - RA | December 8, 2018

Dr. Melvin is an incredible doctor and surgeon and I am very grateful to be his patient. Three weeks ago he replaced my left hip using the anterior approach and I am recovering well. Dr. Melvin and his team are first class in every respect—always available to answer questions (including through the Pulse app) and provide important guidance and information. Most important, Dr. Melvin is highly competent and skilled in the field. This is not an easy process but Dr. Melvin and his team made it as easy as possible and during each phase of this process I felt that I was getting the best medical care available. My surgery was performed on an out-patient basis at the Bethesda-Chevy Chase Surgery Center, which is a new and extremely nice facility with incredibly talented and kind doctors and nurses and support personnel. I highly recommend Dr. Melvin to other patients who are seeking joint replacement surgery.

Ratings - JL | December 7, 2018

Very professional staff and physician.

Ratings - RP | December 6, 2018

Dr. Melvin is top of the line. He is knowledgeable and compassionate and full of positive energy and possible solutions to your problem. A great practice and he is a good addition.

Ratings - KL | December 5, 2018

no wait, very direct and to the point

Ratings - FC | December 04, 2018

Dr. Melvin is a true God sent! His knowledge, bedside manners and expertise say’s it all!! He takes you step by step through the process which really put me at ease about having a hip replacement at a young age. So, not only is he there from the start, but through the recovery your able to talk to him about any/concerns you may have. He developed an appt that you can tell your recovery story, exercise and proper techniques to use, reach out to the staff and Dr. If you’re looking for top notch service and a great surgeon look no further!! Oh, Sibley is one of the best hospitals in the US, they know how to take care of their patients. I love the staff!! Look no further, I can’t stress it enough!!!!!

Ratings - SI | November 27, 2018

Very kind and professional. Good listener. Wish I had gotten to him sooner instead of going with a doc who took my insurance. If I have another problem with knees or hips would definitely go back. Thank you!

Ratings - LT | November 16, 2018

I feel in excellent hands with this doctor. He was personable, professional, and informative. He offered several options for my treatment, which made me feel an active participant in the decisions going forward.

Ratings - AD | November 07, 2018

For those considering knee replacement, I realize it can be a difficult decision, I know , I agonized for years, nursing two bad knees with osteo arthritis. My quality of life was not improving , no matter all the yoga, Gel-one shots, voltaren gel (for swelling), and exercise. Dr. Melvin and his teams care has been life altering. From beginning to end all options were explained in detail, he is extremely professional, caring and compassionate. I live over 3 hrs away and he was an out of network physician for me but I would have him operate on me again in an instant. I looked around for a surgeon for three years, I am so glad I found Dr Melvin and WOSM We are blessed to have such talent in our area.

Ratings - RM | November 07, 2018

Great doctor. Thorough and easy to connect with. Dealt with a complex situation and was great. Highly recommend.

Ratings - KM | November 01, 2018

Dr. Melvin is superb. He is thorough in his diagnosis taking into consideration mitigating factors and the patient’s needs. He is extremely knowledgeable and explains exactly what we need to know in a way we understood. He is personable, compassionate, patient, and very skilled. We had a great experience.

Ratings - MU | October 31, 2018

I was a triathlete when I began to experience leg pain in both legs that limited my fitness activities. An MRI revealed femur stress fractures in both legs. Dr Melvin inserted rods in both femurs attached by screws at the knees and hips, and did both legs at the same time. At three months, I am now back to my fitness activities, and could not be more satisfied with the outcome.

Ratings - Healthgrades Review | October 13, 2018

I am a 75 year old retired physician who knew I needed a new left hip so I could continue an active lifestyle. After studying my local options, I chose Dr Melvin. I was home after one night in the hospital and up and moving carefully for the first week taking only Tylenol and Celebrex for pain. After 2 weeks I was walking, doing lots of stairs, driving and on no pain medications. After 8 weeks, I climbed a mountain. I couldn’t be more pleased with the whole process and outcome.

Ratings - ML | October 03, 2018

Dr. Melvin replaced my left hip. He was very professional as was his entire staff! I was seen in a timely fashion! I am thrilled with the results! I would highly recommend Dr. Melvin!

Ratings - Carol S | October 01, 2018

Dr Melvin has been extremely helpful in diagnosing my hip problem. We have worked on a plan together for surgery that works with my schedule and lifestyle. I appreciate his time and attention to my needs.

Ratings - Kate F | October 05, 2018

You get what you pay for. Dr. Melvin is simply better. He made the right call up front, and my suffering ended. In the end, the difference in price was smaller than I thought, if I had I stayed in the plan with Aetna. Better Drs. are worth it, having saved me months of suffering waiting on the others team – even if they did agree that I needed the surgery. I simply can't recommend Dr. Melvin strongly enough.

Ratings - David F | September 29, 2018

Dr. Melvin was very professional My hip replacement surgery was performed in a timely fashion. Dr. Melvin kept me informed through the entire process.

Ratings - Carol S | September 26, 2018

Great doctor and does great work.

Ratings - Sandy B | September 25, 2018

Absolutely great. Diagnosed my problem. Mind to tell you three doctors previously couldn't figure it out.

Ratings - Fernando R | September 22, 2018

Very good information about how to care for my knee. Dr. Melvin was very thorough.

Ratings - Linda H | September 12, 2018

WOSM is a very fine practice and Dr. Melvin continues this tradition. He is constructive and enthusiastic, listens well and answers questions, and suggests solutions. He is a great addition to the practice.

Ratings - Karen L | September 12, 2018

Dr Melvin was absolutely fantastic! I had an unplanned hip replacement due to a fall. He was calm, professional and very kind. He listened to our concerns and responded so confidently and compassionately that I was totally comfortable with moving forward with surgery. After the surgery, he had an daily email with a place to ask questions, daily exercises and information about what to expect. This was a fantastic way to be in touch with Dr Melvin and to have perspective on how I was doing each day. I am doing so well only 2 1/2 months later because of the fantastic surgery Dr Melvin performed and am looking forward to playing golf this week!

Ratings - Susie M | August 22, 2018

I had a great experience with Dr. Melvin. He was thorough and explained in detail my many concerns. He was well worth the 3 hour round trip travel.

Ratings - Janice P | August 22, 2018

He and staff are kind and helpful. He ran late, which really interfered with my schedule, so don’t schefule your time with him with tight limits. But he went to trouble to apologize and wait was worth it.

Ratings - Patricia S | August 21, 2018

Dr. Melvin diagnosis impressed me as nuanced. His explanations of procedures and risks were clear and helpful. I recommend him.

Ratings - Robert O | August 16, 2018

Kind, understanding, reassuring – very much on time.

Ratings - Paul W | August 6, 2018

Competent, great communicator and lovely personality.

Ratings - Diane M | August 3, 2018

Dr. Melvin and his staff are very professional and he is an expert in hip replacement. I just had my hip replaced on July 18, 2018 and 2 weeks later I am driving and walking. Surgery went exactly as he said it would and at this point I couldn’t be more pleased. Highly recommend Dr Melvin!

Ratings - Sean M | August 2, 2018

My experience at WOSM could not have been better. The entire process --which was eased by the helpfulness of the WOSM staff -- consumed less than one-half an hour, including an x-ray and a thorough consultation with Dr. Melvin.

Ratings - Richard H | July 14, 2018

Dr Melvin performed right hip surgery recently. He explained the pre-op, surgery, and post-op process including answering all my questions and concerns. Dr Melvin was referred to me by another surgeon. I am pleased with how the operation turned out. He checked on me while I was in recovery and while in the hospital for a few days. My gait is stable and balanced, no issues regarding right leg being shorter than left leg. I will recommended Dr Melvin to all my family, friends, and sssociates.

Ratings - John A. D Jr in Columbia, MD | June 29, 2018

LAST FALL WAS QUITE EVENTFUL for John Boyd, 73, of St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands. In August, he finally received long-awaited surgery to replace both hips—during one single operation at Sibley. In September, while he was completing rehabilitation at the hospital, two Category 5 hurricanes just weeks apart pummeled St. Croix and his home.

PDFRead More

Ratings - John B | June 22, 2018

Wonderful, just wonderful. Cannot say enough good things about him and his staff.

Ratings - Philip R. H | June 22, 2018

Dr Melvin and staff are absolutely wonderful. From start to finish I received top notch care. I would highly recommend his practice to anyone in need of a replacement! He truly gave me my life back!!!

Ratings - Brandon W | May 23, 2018

Dr. Stuart Melvin is absolutely the best, as far as I’m concerned! He corrected a previous hip operation by another doctor which had gone bad. I had been in significant pain and disabled for the last year and a half. His bedside manner is extremely caring and warm. My children travelled to Washington to meet him.

They were apprehensive as they did not want me to have another operation. They met Dr. Melvin and he answered all their questions and put them totally at ease. In addition, he called me the night before my surgery to ask if I had any concerns and whether he could answer any questions. One week after Dr. Melvin surgery and I’m feeling like a new person; walking normally and without pain!! I like Dr. Melvin gave me back my life. I recommend him without reservation!

Ratings - Anne | May 22, 2018

Dr. Melvin is an outstanding surgeon that cares about you as a person and not just another patient. He took the time to answer all my questions and concerns. He told me I was a suitable candidate for a bilateral hip replacement and explained the process thoroughly. I was walking the day after surgery and after the first week I no longer needed to take any pain medication. All the pain and limitation I had before surgery is gone. I couldn’t be more pleased with the results.

Ratings - Barb in laytonsville, MD | May 18, 2018

Very impressive. Skillful, kind disposition, wonderful surgeon. Highly recommend !!!

Ratings - Kathleen O | Mar 06, 2018

Absolutely the best, Dr. Melvin is a very caring, competent, skilled surgeon. Friends were trying to rush me into hip surgery but I took my time until I was certain that I had found the right physician. I am glad I did. The improvement came to me within a few weeks after surgery and the most amazing part was not pain reduction, my agility improved so much I thought my body clock had been reset by about 30 more very good years to come.

Ratings - Poppajohn in Christiansted, VI | Feb 09, 2018

Extremely pleased with the outcome and the entire process. Everything went according to plan and pain was well managed.

Ratings - Drew C

Dr. Melvin was very thorough; he explained the entire procedure, answered all my questions, offered options and made me feel very confident about choosing to have a hip replacement.

The entire process, procedure went very, very well. I had minimal pain and never needed any narcotics after surgery. It all went like clockwork. I couldn't be more pleased.

Dr. Melvin is wonderful, I highly recommend him.

Ratings - MaryAnn M

Dr. Melvin is young, friendly, attractive and very up to date on the newest knee replacement. He led me through the process and I felt secure in all aspects of the operation. I had Bi-Lateral knee surgery and was concerned about the pain and any complications. The surgery was picture perfect and the recovery extremely quick. I am very happy with the outcome.

Ratings - Donald D

My up-to-the minute-style anterior hip replacement went beautifully: pain gone in 4-5 days, incision healed rapidly, walked and drove soon. Dr. Melvin will tell you anything you want to know about the process, and about the latest in other medical areas. And Sibley Hospital is a great place to recuperate. When my knee needs work, I’ll be right back in his office.

Ratings - Linda in Washington | Jan 01, 2018

Five weeks ago, Dr. Melvin performed a hip replacement for me. I knew within two days that I was better off than in my previous, severely arthritic state; in barely a week I was pain-free and my incision almost healed. Even using the latest anterior approach, this success in recovery is almost miraculous. Other physicians attribute such results to the fact that he works fast.

Add to that, Dr. M is warm and friendly. He provides as much information as one wants about the physiology of the process. He solves problems with ease. And he's enormously encouraging. I recommend him to anyone and everyone.

Ratings - Linda

Words cannot express my appreciate and gratitude for Dr. Melvin. I had to have a replacement knee surgery recently at age 87. Dr. Melvin was outstanding in every way. Confident with his diagnosis and very helpful and supportive including a personal call the day before the surgery! The procedure went very well with little pain and an outstanding result! Two weeks later, I am pain free, walking without problems and driving once again.

I recommend Dr. Melvin without hesitation as an outstanding surgeon and overall caring and personable doctor. I doubt I will have any further issues on my knees, but if I did, I would only come to Dr. Melvin for treatment.

Ratings - Dorothy F | OCT 25, 2017

Dr. Melvin is very personable and not only takes the time to answer the patient's questions, but asks to ensure there are no additional questions. He was very supportive pre-operatively, helping to manage my osteoarthritis pain and providing guidance on when it was time to make the decision for surgery. I am pleased with my surgical results and recommend Dr. Melvin without exception.

Ratings - Herndon, VA | Aug 01, 2017

Dr. James Melvin is an excellent Orthopedic Surgeon. He is articulate, professional and has a great bedside manor. I appreciate the fact he dos not rush the appointments. He is direct and to the point and manages your expectations. He explains everything thoroughly. I have regained my mobility thanks to his skills. Dr. Melvin is a man of compassion and warmth. I highly recommend him if you are looking for one of the Best! Thank you Dr. Melvin fixing my knee.

Ratings - Jeffrey K in Sterling, VA | Jul 26, 2017

Dr. Melvin is an excellent surgeon. He also has an amazing capacity to listen to your concerns and to find solutions. He replaced my hip and I could not be happier with the results!

Ratings - Reston, VA | Jul 25, 2017

Dr. Melvin is well educated, experienced, patient and personable. I required a total left hip arthroplasty due to severe arthritis and its ensuing limitations. Dr. Melvin explained the procedure and the expected results in great detail. His surgical skills are outstanding. I never expected this significant an improvement in my quality of life. I am six weeks post-op and I have more mobility and less pain than I have had in the previous 20 plus years. I recommend Dr. Melvin without reservation.

Ratings - KJ Walsh in Virginia | Jul 25, 2017

Recently, Dr Melvin replaced my wife's infected hip replacement and installed a temporary prosthesis, which worked very well. Three months later, he effected a total hip revision, which has proved to be excellent. He is a first-rate surgeon. Dr Melvin also prepares patients well for what is going...more

Ratings - John H in Reston, VA | Jul 19, 2017

I was rear ended while being a passenger in a car. My injuries are causing pain that I would not wish on anyone. When I was expressing concern to my physical therapist, he suggested an orthopedic team that sees many of his patients. The office asked all of the necessary questions needed to jump thru all the paperwork. The building is conveniently located near my physical therapy location. Parking is available, just pay attention to the signs that save spaces for their businesses. The staff members were cordial and helpful. I saw two doctors who were thorough and polite. I have more visits in the future. My first impression was positive.

Ratings - Gail B

I did my physical therapy here and it was a terrible experience. The physical therapist doesn't communicate to you at all about your progress and all he does is type away on his computer. It looked like he didn't know what he was doing because he kept pulling up websites to help him decide what exercises to give me. I had ACL reconstruction surgery and I felt like every exercise he gave me was useless! Luckily, I switched doctors. 3 week in and I'm now running and hopping around. What a difference a good PT can do.

Ratings - Katherine S

Dr. James Melvin III. After having a total knee replacement in 2006, my knee never felt right. I lived in discomfort for 11 years. Dr. Melvin did a total knee revision in April of 2017. The operation was a life changer and has made an incredible difference. He even called me the night before the operation to give me a few words to ease my mind.

Ratings - Miller, VA | Jul 19, 2017

Fantastic surgeon. I was up and about a couple of days after a hip replacement surgery. Dr. Melvin is extremely talented and a gifted surgeon. Very personable and caring. Highly recommend!!!

Ratings - Darrell C, VA | Jul 18, 2017

Prompt, friendly, very clear about what is involved in the surgery. So far, seems to have done a great job: I was able to drive less than two weeks after having my right hip replaced and walking was relatively easy from the very beginning.

Ratings - Richard Brewster, VA | Jul 18, 2017

Dr. Melvin did my hip replacement surgery and it was a success! He explained all the procedure, answered all my questions and he was very professional, courteous and friendly. I highly recommend Dr. Melvin if you need a hip replacement surgery!

Ratings - Fairfax, VA | Jul 12, 2017

I can't say enough good things about Dr. Melvin. Dr. Melvin performed my bi-lateral hip replacement surgery. Everything went so smoothly. I'm so happy I chose him. He answered all my questions both before and after my surgery. I highly recommend Dr. Melvin if you need hip replacement surgery.

Ratings - Reston, VA | Jul 05, 2017

Words cannot express my appreciate and gratitude for Dr. Melvin. I had to have a replacement knee surgery recently at age 87. Dr. Melvin was outstanding in every way. Confident with his diagnosis and very helpful and supportive including a personal call the day before the surgery! The procedure went very well with little pain and an outstanding result! Two weeks later, I am pain free, walking without problems and driving once again.

I recommend Dr. Melvin without hesitation as an outstanding surgeon and overall caring and personable doctor. I doubt I will have any further issues on my knees, but if I did, I would only come to Dr. Melvin for treatment.

Ratings - Fortna

Dr. Melvin is simply nothing short of amazing. Not only did he have a marvelous and reassuring bedside manner, but he spent considerable time looking at my x-rays and cat scans and then thoroughly explained the severity of my injury and what my options were. If I ever have another orthopedic issue again, I'm going back to him. I can unequivocally recommend him.

Ratings - White

Dr. Melvin performed a total knee replacement for my mother in June 2017. From the pre-surgery preparation, thru the surgery and post-op care he was impeccable. Coming from a family of 5 doctors and growing up around hospitals I could see that Dr. Melvin actually LISTENS to his patients and CARES for their welfare. He's not some stuffy academic or egoistic doctor - not that I know any of those. He takes the time to explain, in lay man terms, what's happening from a medical perspective. We never felt rushed or hurried for him to skip to the next patient.

I highly recommend Dr. Melvin for anyone in need of a good orthopedic surgeon.

Ratings - Verma

Dr. Melvin performed a total hip replacement on me a year ago. I do not know if my results are typical. I was not in any pain after the surgery, never took any pain medication after an overnight at the hospital, walked in unaided to physical therapy two days later (I got out on a Friday), and went back to work a week and a half later. What more can I say.....other than I highly recommend Dr. Melvin.

Ratings - McDonald

I knew I needed both knees replaced but had heard so many horror stories that I was just plain scared to have it done. Finally, my children convinced me to speak with a doctor at their orthopedic clinic and I was given an appointment with Dr. Melvin. He was so easy to talk to and so confident that I was immediately at ease with him. We decided after another appointment that I would have both knees done at the same time. The surgery was May 18th, and here I am, August 12th, done with PT and walking without a cane.

Ratings - Havard

I had a knee surgery just over a week ago and had Dr. Melvin not of been there, well it would of been a long and painful process. I honestly feel like he is the best doctor in the entire OrthoVirginia area, which made leaving hard and sad!

Ratings - Bakhsh

Dr Melvin cares about his patient before and after surgery. He explains everything you need to know about your surgery. I was referred to OrthoVirginia by my primary care doctor after having 2 botched knee surgeries in Winchester Virginia he is a good orthopedic surgeon and I would refer anyone to him.

Ratings - Richardson-Merritt

The highest compliment that I can give to Dr. Melvin is that I will recommend him to my family and friends, which I don't do lightly.

Ratings - Hilton

Contact Us

  • 5454 Wisconsin Ave
    Suite 1000
    Chevy Chase, MD 20815

    Phone:
    Fax: (301) 951-6160

  • 5215 Loughboro Rd. NW
    Suite 200
    Washington, DC 20016

    Phone:
    Fax: (202) 787-5606

  • 2021 K St. NW
    Suite 516
    Washington, DC 20006

    Phone:
    Fax: (202) 296-2515